Hapkido

Bill's forum was the first! All subjects are welcome. Participation by all encouraged.

Moderator: Available

KYUechi

Hapkido

Post by KYUechi »

I'm considering cross training in Hapkido. I know some Uechi-Ka such as James Thompson also train in Aikido, and since the closest thing in my area is Hapkido, I thought I may try it. Seems like it could compliment the Uechi quite well.

If any of you are familiar with it, I'd love some feedback.

Thanks! :D
CANDANeh

Re: Hapkido

Post by CANDANeh »

I studied Hapkido a couple years ago. Found it interesting mostly because the head instructor had considerable experience in Hapkido " soft style"(2nd generation student of founder Choi Yung Sool ). Also, he entered the ring quite often as a kickboxer. Therefore, plenty of contact and good strong foundation of effective principles. IMO...Every style has something to add to ones training IF it`s a good school/instructor regardless the style.
Léo
Bill Glasheen

Post by Bill Glasheen »

KYUechi wrote:
I know some Uechi-Ka such as James Thompson also train in Aikido.
I have a shodan in the Tomiki method of aikido, which I picked up from a "mixed martial artist" in the true sense of the expression. He had extensive training in both Goju and aikido, and had been in special forces. It was great experience seeing how another Naha stylist integrated aikido into a stand-up style, and made it work in combat.

To some extent traditional Hapkido is a bit of a mixed style, being a blend of the Japanese aiki-jujutsu and indigenous Korean styles. However the striking part can have an emphasis on the typical high-kicking methods of Korea and Northern China. It just depends.
CANDANeh wrote:
Every style has something to add to ones training IF it`s a good school/instructor regardless the style.
That about sums it up.

- Bill
Stevie B

Post by Stevie B »