need ideas for teaching student with little use of legs

Martial Artist get sick, have accidents, become disabled. This forum will focus on how these individuals cope with their condition while staying active in the martial arts and while living life to the fullest. Administered by Sensei Bill Bauknecht. He's been there and doing great! (You don't need to register in order to post here!)

Moderator: Available

janine

need ideas for teaching student with little use of legs

Post by janine »

I am a new assistant instructor and we recently got a new student who has very limited use of his legs and feet. He can walk, but with diffiiculty. I Don't remember the name of the disease ( I will ask again & write it down) but it reminds me of MS when I see him walk.
The style of MA is Mo-Shu a type of Chinese Aikido. Not alot of kicking involved. The student is a 10 year old boy who is very enthusiastic to say the least! He has a teriffic attitude and wants very badly to succeed. My heart goes out to him. I really could use any input or info or other websites or books etc, etc. on this subject matter.
Thank you in advance for your help.
Janine
gmattson
Site Admin

Hi Janine

Post by gmattson »

I was hoping Al Moulton would jump in here and help out. Al is probably one of the best examples of a person who has little use of his legs and yet has managed to continue his Uechi-ryu training and teach many students as well.

We all have disabilities of one kind or another during our lifetime. . . even if it is only growing old!

We all must learn to adjust to our weaknesses and rely on our strengths. Al, who lacks lower body strength, is a powerhouse with his arms and hands.

Don't be afraid to modify your training to suit your needs. Good luck with your training. Hopefully some of our other warriors will jump in here and help out.
GEM
"Do or do not. there is no try!"
Bill Bauknecht

Post by Bill Bauknecht »

Hi Janine,