Judo kata

Reopened!!! The jujitsu forum will focus on traditional and non-traditional Jujitsu/grappling arts.
Stryke

Judo kata

Post by Stryke »

Does anyone know of any links that get into the original judo kata ?

Clips would be to much to hope for :?

are they still performed/practiced ?
Norm Abrahamson

Post by Norm Abrahamson »

Check out the Judo Information Site, it's pretty good.

The link to a judo kata on the page is:

http://www.judoinfo.com/techjudo.htm

Sincerely,

Norm Abrahamson
Stryke

Post by Stryke »

Thanks a lot :)
f.Channell

Post by f.Channell »

Stryke.
I've been doing Judo for 6 years and we have spent maybe 2 hours in class on it and I went to one 3 hour seminar.
I think there is a lot to be learned there but no one does it around here anyway.
In fact some of the best Judo Kata people are the older women who trained before Judo allowed women into international competition.
They were still able to compete in kata competitions.

In fact Sensei Fukuda who is 93 years old is said to be the top expert of ju-no Kata alive today.
She is certainly one of the most amazing martial artists still alive today, if not the most amazing.

She was recently in Oprah's magazine which sadly my wife doesn't get.
F.
Sans Peur Ne Obliviscaris
www.hinghamkarate.com
Stryke

Post by Stryke »

hey Fred I remember reading an article on her , she does sound amazing !

I thought the kata might give me a good look at Judo basics , and a good way to memorise and classify , kinda like us karate folks do .

with the BJJ I`m doing and all the clinch work I`m playing with I find myself more and more looking at the little Judo I know .

I`m also finding that with ahving less apprehension about falling and going to the ground , the throws I can do seem that much easier .

Hopefully within the next year or so i`ll be able to cross train in a little judo .
f.Channell

Post by f.Channell »

Stryke,
Learning Uechi is quite a bit different from learning a grappling art.