Ipon nukite?

Bill's forum was the first! All subjects are welcome. Participation by all encouraged.

Moderator: Available

Ryokan

Ipon nukite?

Post by Ryokan »

Please forgive the transliteration if it's poor, but tonight in my Goju class, I brought up Ipon Nukite, which is one of the strikes I learned of (but didn't learn) when I studied Kouburyu.

What would this strike be used for? It seems rather impractical for all but the fleshiest bits.

One of the white belts suggested striking to pressure points -- is that even a remote possibility?
Bill Glasheen

Post by Bill Glasheen »

I need to understand the exact nukite you're talking about. What is the level of your nukite? And is it supinated (palm up), pronated (palm down) or in-between (palm to side)?

- Bill
JimHawkins

Post by JimHawkins »

In CMAs this tool and similar tools are used to take position and weave energy like a needle weaves a thread through a garment... It's about energy and position and how you can use this kind of strike to "whack" the opponent's attack, move his tool off the line; Issue force into his structure, unbalance him and otherwise take a position and gain contact--feel-in order to assist your attack.

Think of this strike as a forward "interruption" of the opponent's attack that could, for example, be a pre-cursor to a violent wa-uke.. One flows into and assists the other, they become one and the same in action..

These kinds of moves run all through many of these similar systems and are thought not first and foremost as a mere striking tool but as a tool that can, jam, stick, displace, disrupt, control space AND strike.. 8)

This is something you pick up from sticking training but it can be trained in "single move" attack defense drills too.

I'll post some clips..

Here's Gary..

Just some "ideas" there for your consideration...

http://www.garylamwingchun.com/movies/bui_512k.wmv
Shaolin
M Y V T K F