Creative, intelligent training

Bill's forum was the first! All subjects are welcome. Participation by all encouraged.

Moderator: Available

Bill Glasheen

Creative, intelligent training

Post by Bill Glasheen »

I like Scott Sonnon. I don't buy all his stuff, and I'm not one of his proteges. But he has been generous with me, and I do respect the way he thinks.

I do think his marketing is over the top, but that's because I'm a scientist. Nevertheless, I understand the need to differentiate yourself if you're trying to make a living in this fitness world.

I'm sharing this very short infomercial with you, because it reflects the kinds of creative training I work on, and am inspired by when I study Okinawan karate in its cultural context. If after viewing this material you choose to buy some of his products, well good for Scott. And you most certainly could do a whole lot worse.

I will say that this type of training is EXTREMELY important for our men and women in service who - while in the field - don't have access to fancy equipment. Being in top shape while in combat is important. And it isn't an endpoint; it's a process.

Here's a free plug, Scott. And keep on keeping on.

TACFIT R.O.P.E.

- Bill
Bill Glasheen

Post by Bill Glasheen »

Here are some of the things I like about the exercises here.
  • In spite of no equipment but a piece of rope and nature, Scott has you doing exercises that are as good as (and in some cases better than) what you can do in a high-priced gym. This reminds me of how I first put muscle mass on after ending my career as a cross country runner. At almost 6 foot, I went from 145 to 175 pounds using nothing more than a loop of rope, a stick, and a door frame. My inspiration? Ads on television for The Bullworker. OK so my thingie didn't have a spring in it, but so what. It worked. (Essentially I created an isometrics program for my body.)