Mr. John V Summers-cont'd

JOHN THURSTON is back and eager to discuss Western Martial Arts, especially relating to its history.

Moderator: JOHN THURSTON

JOHN THURSTON

Mr. John V Summers-cont'd

Post by JOHN THURSTON »

I did say I would be back, did I not?

Jack was the only practitioner with whom I Studied, although some came very very close in slightly unrelated points of strength. I add this last bit so none of my remarks "hurt" or upset any of our august seniors, as they do not deserve to be upset.

The first "Rule of Karate" "begins and ends with REI]". I remember when I was just out of hospital and a phone call came in regarding instruction in T'ai Chi Chuan. The Gentelman who called spoke in a most brusque, derisive and rude 'tone" is the only way I can put it. He began to become exasperated when I asked him when he wished to workout out--'OOP's" let my guard down, so to speak. I was in fact conveying the fact that I could start him on the basics, or my close friend Eric Sifu could begin the gentleman's training. In 19th Century England, and in the Late Republic of Rome, one had to be a gentleman. This included "not being involved in trade" and/ or hard physical labor.

Rei, in a nut shell means respect, well, not exactly. Several recalled passages from Funakoshi's Book shed some light on the thought of 'rei': "It is said that without order there is disorder and that the "difference between man and (Most) animals is REI. (the inserted ' most' is from me, as we have come to now that there are some animals who have developing 'Rei" as part of their evolutionary path, past, present and future.

As I noted in the first post on the matter, more or less, Jack instinctively understood 'rei" but he referred to it as "being considerate".. Funakoshi's genius was in understanding that Rei had to be inate in all participants, or things would go badly.