Stretching??????

Bill's forum was the first! All subjects are welcome. Participation by all encouraged.

Moderator: Available

Bone

Stretching??????

Post by Bone »

Being in a traditioanl martial art I ahve often heard and seen that many of us do not becoem as limber as soem of our higher kicking contemporaries, not all but a good portion, due probably to the fact that we do not stress head kicks without first shin kicking them to the ground first-what I like to call the Okinawian head kick!

Well I have been working on my flexability for the last 6 months and hav emade little progress. I have just started this past weekend, the Stretching Scientifically method of Tom Kurtz. This is the ad in Black Belt & other MA mags that the guy is doing the splits on two chairs with a girl sititng on his outstreched legs. The book is very informative, but also written at a very high level and the video is good with showing more routines but still a little confusing-I need to go back over them both and take some more notes.

My question finnaly being: Has anyone on here tried this method? What were your results? Or have you tried another program and had a lot of sucess with it?

I have Dan Ranking and can kick to the head of someone my hight-rughly 6 foot tall, but I would like to have "pretty kicks" and be able to do the front and side splits, HELP >>>>ANYONE?
"Thinking is a lost art"
Stryke

Post by Stryke »

Ive got the book , and found it interesting , It didnt provide incredible results but did more importantly chnage many misconceptions about flexibility , Im a firm beleiver now in Dynamic flexibility versus static flexibility , I altered my (and my clubs) warmups and have seen improvement .

I cant do the splits now but did get to that stage , i just dont feel its worth the effort to maintain , it`s a different kind of flexibility from whats needed for fighting , but I can do them now and then when doing the right training , but only as a by product and not a goal .