Ki- Ai

Bill's forum was the first! All subjects are welcome. Participation by all encouraged.

Moderator: Available

Benjamin R Hathaway

Ki- Ai

Post by Benjamin R Hathaway »

I have a question about Ki Ais and Uechi Ryu. When I studied before under an Okikukai affiliated Uechi school we were told to Shout or Ki Ai (spelling?) on certain strikes during the Kata. I now am studying under a Uechi Ryu USA school and am told that we don't use them in Uechi Ryu. I am curious what the general consesus for many of you all.
gmattson
Site Admin

Ki- Ai

Post by gmattson »

Welcome to the forums, Benjamin.

While studying on Okinawa during the mid 50's, none of the dojo I visited or worked out in, performed a Kiai in their kata. I'm not sure when this practice started, but I suspect it had something to do with the influence of Japanese karate.

There is lots of Kiai in Japanese karate and at some point, the younger Okinawan teachers began to put kiai into their kata and kumite. . . at first for demonstration purposes, then eventually in dojo practice.

I'm not commenting on the value or no value of the kiai. . . simply passing along information.

------------------
GEM
Bill Glasheen

Ki- Ai

Post by Bill Glasheen »

Benjamin

There's much variation and research on breathing in the Uechi system at this present time.

The truth is that this system is very simple at its core (sanchin, seisan, sanseiryu, body conditioning). It also contains fundamental elements of movement that are central to many martial arts systems - striking and grappling alike. Furthermore, it's also easily practiced as either an internal or external system (check with Joe Belone on this). Because of this, it's very easy to layer in one's personal preferences, or merge the system with others that share some of its core principles.